iTunes was unable to load provider data from sync services

31 Jul

iTunes-was-unable-to-load-provider-data-from-Sync-ServicesSo the other day I was trying to sync a selection of the latest Hype Machine trending buzz MP3s – including the incredible Southside EP by Bok Bok, check below for a video – to my generic portable music device (iPhone, obvs) when I was presented with a distinctly un-chill message:

iTunes was unable to load provider data from sync services. Reconnect or try again later.

Naturally I ignored it and went about my sync but was properly annoyed when I realised half the Southside EP, and several songs by recently deceased jazz singer Amy Winehouse, had not copied across to my phone.

I hit the internet looking for a fix but couldn’t find anything conclusive. Here are the steps I tried:

  • Go to Edit, Preferences, Devices and Rest Sync History
  • Eject your iPhone
  • Reconnect
  • Despair as same error message pops up
  • Delete literally everything off the phone
  • NB don’t actually delete, just uncheck sync options in the tab browser
  • Re-check all music, apps etc and sync again
  • Despair even harder as error message pops up again
  • Go to work in a bit of a mood about the whole thing
  • Plug the phone back in after work and sync it
  • Wonder why it suddenly works properly
  • Tut and offer a wry smile at the idiosyncrasies of modern technology

This reminds me of a joke I just thought of:

Q: What do you call it when you copy all your music and apps on to your phone through iTunes in the same room that you make your breakfast and keep your bin?

A: A Kitchen Sync!!

Probably needs work. Here’s that Bok Bok tune I was on about.

Leave a Reply

