Miserable keyword raises a smile

16 Mar

Miserable?Obvs I keep a close eye on my blog stats – how else would I stay on top of the thousands upon thousands of visits the site attracts every day? – and one of the thing that interests me most is the keywords that people use to get to the site from natural search.

These range from the obvious (Why does Timbaland do those weird faces?) to the unexpected, a category my next example certainly falls into.

I have found that in the past 30 days, a total of 50 people have landed on the blog after searching for the word ‘miserable’ – 15 of them in past week alone. I like to this that this isn’t representative of how Google views my tone or content, but that it has more to do with the fact that I have a post title (‘Free MP3: my miserable doomcore/bleakstep project‘) with the word miserable in it.

Although you would have thought the keyword attracting most traffic to that particular post would be ‘PLEASE SHOW ME THE FUTURE OF MUSIC AND LET ME DOWNLOAD IT’.

  • Why do people searching for ‘miserable’ find my blog?
  • Is my blog miserable?
  • Are you miserable?
  • What does it mean to be miserable in 2011?

What search terms do people use to find your blog? Send me a postcard and let me know!

One Response to “Miserable keyword raises a smile”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Jessica Ennis V Colonel Gaddafi V Dr Dre V Timbaland « Survivor Envy - April 16, 2011

    […] emerge onto the battlefield all the time. We’ve discussed previously the curious case of the miserable keyword, but while that one bubbles under, there are a slew of top terms vying to be the biggest referrer […]

Leave a Reply

